Evangelical Lutheran Synod Historical Society, 16 Browns Ct., Mankato, MN 56001

Founded by the Evangelical Lutheran Synod in June 1996, the ELS Historical Society promotes interest in the historical and doctrinal heritage of Lutheranism, particularly of the Evangelical Lutheran Synod and its institutions; stimulates historical research; publishes historical studies; assists congregations in the preservation of local congregational history; preserves items of museum quality; and, provides assistance to the ELS Department of Archives and History.

The Society sponsors a variety of projects and activities:

If you have additional ideas to suggest, we welcome your feedback.

Board Members

As of February 2021:

  • Marie Aaberg
  • Craig Ferkenstad (synod secretary)
  • Ted Gullixson (synod archivist)
  • Lois Jaeger
  • Michael Lilienthal, President
  • Marge Lillo, Treasurer
  • Glenn Obenberger (synod president)
  • Andrew Soule, Vice President
  • Erling Teigen


Oak Leaves Editor

  • Erling Teigen

(More information about Oak Leaves...)



A printable timeline highlighting major events in Synod history is available as a free PDF download.